I ♥ Food

Every day is Day One, but it’s also 17 days since I started this protein-fiber “metabolic efficiency” dealio. I still love how simple it is and I especially love not counting calories. And it’s working! I’m down a few pounds…but Day 17 is a weird time for a big reveal, so you’ll have to wait for May 9, which will be the 4-week mark.

Last night was the first time I got really hungry, and it wasn’t the diet’s fault; I was just busy doing other things, and my hunger snuck up on me.

By the time I was home, I was actually light-headed. I took whatever was in the kitchen and sautéed it up. It ended up looking pretty bad but tasting so good, I ate it, and ate it, and ate it, and ate it.

eggplantdinner

This had eggplant, mushrooms, cabbage, tomato (for color but the tang was nice too), tofu fried separately in a small amount of oil, fresh ginger, sesame seed oil, soy sauce, and tahini (ground sesame seeds). You could use any vegetables with this, but the backbone of it was the eggplant and tahini. Chicken could replace the tofu if you hate “toad food”. Go easy on that sesame butter, though. A little goes a long way!

protein

I don’t know where I acquired this protein shake mix sample that rounded out my lunch menu today. Let’s just say it’s not for the casual protein-powder consumer. You have to be really invested in the “all-in-one” concept to enjoy powdered broccoli and shiitake mushroom in your shake. Not recommended!

I’m going to have a cocktail after work today. It’s one thing to fall into a box of cookies; I think it’s another to decide what you want to do ahead of time. I’m mostly looking forward to the social aspect, but a tiny whiskey-buzz with my diet coke would an acceptable side-effect, too. Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

